The Cultural and Recreation Commission of Isabella County was officially formed. It is commonly referred to as the CRC. The CRC is comprised of six local units of government; Isabella County, Chippewa Township, Union Township, the City of Mt. Pleasant, Central Michigan University and the Mt. Pleasant Public School District. The newly formed entity then set out to create the first indoor ice arena in Mt. Pleasant.